K-12 National Guidelines

Character and Social-Emotional Development

Character and Social-Emotional Development

Character.org recently published the National Guidelines for Character and Social-Emotional Development (CSED) to fuse together character and social-emotional development.


The first section identifies and explains the different character strengths within four areas
of character development:

- Moral
- Performance
- Intellectual
- Civic


The second section identifies and explains the five areas of Social-Emotional Learning (SEL):

- Self-awareness
- Self-management
- Social awareness
- Interpersonal/relationship skills
- Responsible & ethical decision-making

The CSED National Guidelines are an opportunity for states, school districts, and individual schools to adopt and use the most comprehensive framework that supports, nurtures, and fosters the whole child. These developmentally appropriate National Guidelines provide a roadmap for school leaders and teachers to help children and teens understand, care about, and consistently practice the SEL skills and character strengths that will enable them to flourish in school, in the workplace, and as citizens.

Download the CSED National Guidelines

Learn More

Interested to learn how to use the CSED National Guidelines
in your classroom, school, or district?

Contact Us