Meet the Team

Schools of Character

We are here to help you
become a School of Character.

Everyone on’s Leadership Council, our State Coordinators, and Evaluators have witnessed
first hand how the staff at a School of Character embrace their responsibility to positively shape the social, emotional and character development of every student in their school.

Lori Soifer

Director, Schools of Character

[email protected]

Nanette Nathan

Administrator, Schools of Character & Promising Practices

[email protected]

Schools of Character Leadership Council

Arthur Schwartz – President,
Lori Soifer – Director, Schools of Character
Nanette Nathan – Administrator, Schools of Character & Promising Practices
David Waangard – President & Director, The School of Ethical Education
Philip Brown– Fellow, Center for Applied Psychology Rutgers University
William Trusheim – President New Jersey Alliance for Social-Emotional & Character Development,
Regional Director
Joe Carvin – Founder One World
Valerie Gallina – President Florida, Regional Director
Kent Fahrenbruck – Regional Director
Madison Tomlinson – Regional Director


State Coordinators

Kara Chism – Alabama
Kent Fahrenbruck – Colorado
Val Gallina – Florida
Pam Green – Georgia
Madonna Murphy – Illinois
Allie Gardner – Iowa
Noalee McDonald Augustine – Kansas
Vickie Muir – Michigan
Barb Bergseth – Minnesota
Nicole Diehl – Missouri
Mary Reinhold – New Jersey
Laurie Coletti – New Jersey
Philip Fusco – New York
Justyn Knox – North Carolina
Jacqueline Schmucki – Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana
Madison Tomlinson – Oklahoma
Brendan Peterson – Pennsylvannia
Diana Dodson – Texas
Elaine Gehring – Wisconsin